Ryley Walker Announces New Album, Shares Lush New Song “Telluride Speed”

Deafman Glance Due Out May 18 via Dead Oceans

Feb 28, 2018
Bookmark and Share


Ryley Walker has announced a new album, Deafman Glance, and shared its first single, "Telluride Speed." Deafman Glance is due out May 18 via Dead Oceans. Listen to "Telluride Speed" speed below, followed by the album's tracklist and cover art, as well as Walker's upcoming tour dates.

Deafman Glance is the follow-up to 2016's Golden Sings That Have Been Sung and 2015's Primrose Green. "Telluride Speed" is a lush flute-backed six-and-a-half-minute long song that rocks out towards the end. Walker produced the album with LeRoy Bach, recording it at the Minbal (now JAMDEK) Studios in Chicago, at USA Studios, and in LeRoy's kitchen. Cooper Crain (Bitchin' Bajas, Cave) recorded and mixed the album and played synths on it. Bach played some guitar and piano on the album. Deafman Glance also features 6-string players Brian J Sulpizio and Bill Mackay, Andrew Scott Young and Matt Lux on bass, Mikel Avery and Quin Kirchner on drums/percussion, and Nate Lepine on flute and saxophone.

Walker issued this statement about the album: "I think more than anything the thing to take away from this record is that I appreciate what improv and jamming and that outlook on music has done for me, but I wanted rigid structure for these songs. I don't want to expand upon them live. There's a looseness to some of the songs I guess, but I didn't want to rely on just hanging out on one note. 

"I was under a lot of stress because I was trying to make an anti-folk record and I was having trouble doing it. I wanted to make something deep-fried and more me-sounding. I didn't want to be jammy acoustic guy anymore. I just wanted to make something weird and far-out that came from the heart finally. I was always trying to make something like this I guess, trying to catch up with my imagination. And I think I succeeded in that way - it's got some weird instrumentation on there, and some surreal far-out words. And it's more Chicago-y sounding. Chicago sounds like a train constantly coming towards you but never arriving. That's the sound I hear, all the time, ringing in my ears."

Deafman Glance Tracklist:

1. In Castle Dome
2. 22 Days
3. Accommodations
4. Can't Ask Why
5. Opposite Middle
6. Telluride Speed
7. Expired
8. Rocks On Rainbow
9. Spoil With The Rest

Ryley Walker Tour Dates:

Wed. Mar. 7 - Chicago, IL @ Cafe Mustache
Tue. Mar. 13 - Chicago, IL @ Cafe Mustache
Wed. Mar. 21 - Chicago, IL @ Cafe Mustache
Thu. March 29 - Chicago, IL @ Cafe Mustache
Tue. Apr. 10 - Columbia, MO @ Cafe Berlin
Wed. Apr. 11 - Oklahoma City, OK @ 89th Street Collective
Thu. Apr. 12 - Dallas, TX @ Three Links
Fri. Apr. 13 - Marfa, TX @ Ballroom Marfa / Marfa Myths Fest
Sun. Apr. 15 - Tucson, AZ @ Club Congress
Mon. Apr. 16 - San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar
Tue. Apr. 17 - Los Angeles, CA @ Resident
Thu. Apr. 19 - El Paso, TX @ Tricky Falls *
Sat. Apr. 21 - Tulsa, OK @ The Vanguard *
Sun. Apr. 22 - St. Louis, MO @ Blueberry Hill *
Mon. Apr. 23 - Minneapolis, MN @ First Line Music Café *
Wed. Apr. 25 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall *
Thu. Apr. 26 - Cincinnati, OH @ The Woodward Theater *
Fri. Apr. 27 - Washington, DC @ Lincoln Theater *
Sat. Apr. 28 - Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg *
Sun. Apr. 29 - New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom *
Mon. Apr. 30 - Woodstock, NY @ Colony
Tue. May 1 - Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair *
Wed. May 2 - Philadelphia, PA @ World Cafe Live *
Thu. May 3 - Charlottesville, VA @ Jefferson Theater *
Fri. May 4 - Asheville, NC @ The Mothlight
Sat. May 5 - Raleigh, NC @ Kings
Sun. May 6 - Savannah, GA @ El-Rocko Lounge
Mon. May 7 - Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West *
Mon. May 8 - Nashville, TN @ Mercy Lounge *
 
* w/Calexico

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.