Watch: Joanna Newsom Shares Paul Thomas Anderson-Directed “Divers” Video | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Monday, February 17th, 2020  

Watch: Joanna Newsom Shares Paul Thomas Anderson-Directed “Divers” Video

Divers Out Now via Drag City

Oct 27, 2015
Bookmark and Share


Joanna Newsom released Divers, her long-awaited new album (her first in five years, since 2010's Have One on Me), last Friday via Drag City. Also last week the video for the album's title track, "Divers," screened in select movie theaters. Now the video has been posted to YouTube for all to see and you can watch it below. Paul Thomas Anderson (Boogie Nights, Magnolia, There Will Be Blood) directed the 7-minute long clip. Newsom appeared in Anderson's last film, Inherent Vice. The "Divers" video was shot in New York City at the studio of Kim Keever, whose artwork is used in the album's packaging. It features Newsom singing the song, with images of clouds and mountains superimposed over and under her. Check it out below, followed by her upcoming tour dates. Also read our review of Divers here. (Finally, feel free to read our 2010 cover story on Newsom and Have One on Me.)

Joanna Newsom Tour Dates:

Sat. Oct. 31 - Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall
Sun. Nov. 1 - Brighton, UK @ Dome
Wed. Nov. 4 - Barcelona, ES @ Barts
Thu. Nov. 5 - Berlin, DE @ Admiralspalast
Fri. Nov. 6 - Cologne, DE @ Kulturkirche
Sat. Nov. 7 - Utrecht, NL @ Tivoli
Sun. Nov. 8 - Paris, FR @ Salle Gaveau
Mon. Nov. 9 - London, UK @ Eventim Apollo
Sun. Dec. 6 - Boston, MA @ Orpheum Theatre*
Mon. Dec. 7 - Brooklyn, NY @ Kings Theatre*
Wed. Dec. 9 - Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer*
Thu. Dec. 10 - Washington, DC @ Lincoln Theatre*
Sat. Dec. 12 - Munhall, PA @ Carnegie of Homestead Music Hall*
Sun. Dec. 13 - Buffalo, NY @ Asbury Hall @ Babeville*
Mon. Dec. 14 - Toronto, ON @ Queen Elizabeth Theatre*
Tue. Dec. 15 - Royal Oak, MI @ Royal Oak Music Theatre*
Wed. Dec. 16 - Chicago, IL @ Chicago Theatre*
Thu. Dec. 17 - St. Paul, MN @ The Fitzgerald Theater*
Fri. Dec. 18 - Madison, WI @ Orpheum Theatre*

* = with Alela Diane & Ryan Francesconi



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

tez7
October 27th 2015
8:44am

My brother recommended I might like this blog. He
was once totally right. This submit actually made my
day. You cann’t believe simply how so much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!