Joanna Newsom: Have One on Me (Drag City) | Under The Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Wednesday, October 20th, 2021  

Joanna Newsom

Have One on Me

Drag City

Feb 24, 2010 Web Exclusive Bookmark and Share


A Joanna Newsom song is impossible to describe. Not Newsom’s voice, of course, which conjures up adjectives like “gossamer” and “sprightly,” or her harp, which is an instrument she pretty much lays sole claim to in 21st-century pop music, but her songs themselves, the way they bend back on themselves and wander away. Newsom makes one believe in impossibilities, like Peter Pan or The X-Files.

It’s been over three years since Newsom’s wondrous Ys, but on Have One on Me, she gives us not just one, but three discs of new material. Not a whole lot has changed, though Newsom manages a country tinge to the title track. Country in this venue sounds more like Oklahoma! than Johnny Cash. Clocking in at 11 minutes, “Have One on Me” goes through so many shifts and changes, it’s difficult to get a handle on it, but the result is thrilling rather than frustrating.

Despite the friendly titles of some of the tracks, (“In California,” “Ribbon Bows”) things take a more somber turn as Newsom continues on her way. As Newsom sings, “But the darkness has fallen so fast/It seems like some kind of mistake.” Stripped for much of the time of the horns and orchestral adornment of the first disc, Newsom turns a celebration into a confessional.

Just when it seems Newsom couldn’t possibly have any more rabbits in her hat, the third disc contains some gospel flourishes that concentrate her voice in a whole new way, bending down low to grab some bit of soul. The third disc also contains the mannered, medieval love song “Kingfisher.” Of the three discs, it’s the bravest, but the one requiring the most getting used to.

Newsom has never been one of those artists who leave the listener wanting more, knowing that there’s more to give. The massive amount of material contained in Have One on Me will take a long time to digest. Perhaps as long as it takes Newsom to produce another album. (www.dragcity.com/artists/joanna-newsom)

Author rating: 9/10

Rate this album
Average reader rating: 8/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

Taylor31SARGENT
June 14th 2011
5:43am

If you are in uncomfortable position and have got no cash to get out from that, you will have to receive the loans. Just because that would help you unquestionably. I take car loan every year and feel good because of it.

Dissertation Coaching
April 16th 2012
2:30am

Excellent publish. Wonderful thoughts distributed. Adore your internet site. Buy dissertation All the best.

AyalaMarta
August 1st 2012
11:03pm

Lots of specialists tell that personal loans aid a lot of people to live their own way, just because they are able to feel free to buy necessary things. Moreover, different banks offer credit loan for different classes of people.

CheriBaker
February 17th 2013
6:32am

Every body remembers that today’s life is high priced, nevertheless some people need cash for various issues and not every one gets big sums money. Thence to receive good credit loans and credit loan will be good solution.

essay writing
March 13th 2013
12:16am

We can work hard creating academic assignments. Nonetheless, we have got an opportunity to buy coursework online topwritingservice.com and relieve our writing stress.

OsbornLisa
May 24th 2013
11:59am

Look here when you are trying to find professional research paper service. Order custom essay, don’t waste your time and do other important things while competent writers will cope with your writing work.

Buy term paper
May 27th 2013
6:43am

I have to confess that getting essays for sale at custom writing service available on the Web is a fantastic think. Don’t miss out on a unique opportunity to buy research papers essaysservice.com which will aid you to receive high points.

Tamera23Bowman
June 5th 2013
8:54pm

This writing service presents excellent custom papers which are written by skilful writers, who know how to create unique custom business essays and they are always willing to help you in paper writing.

CarolineGordon
June 12th 2013
7:10am

Sometimes people suffer just because of academic papers completing. Famous Custom UK Essay writing service can definitely rescue college students.

LavonneDaniels
June 12th 2013
7:44am

College students from different places of the world have the same problems. In fact, they choose essays buy options. Luckily custom essays writing firms are focused on studnets’ success.

ElbaSANTANA20
June 23rd 2013
1:56pm

Our agency has been in the writing industry for a long time, so if you are seeking where to buy superior quality Abortion Essay, just get in touch with us.

StricklandAurelia33
June 23rd 2013
3:33pm

Looking for superb service? This trustable agency has a lot of experience in writing industry, so it will offer you excellent quality Justice Essay>.