Nada Surf: If I Had a Hi-Fi (Mardev) | Under The Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Wednesday, December 1st, 2021  

Nada Surf

If I Had a Hi-Fi

Mardev

Jul 09, 2010 Nada Surf Bookmark and Share


On If I Had a Hi-Fi, Nada Surf accomplishes the rare feat of producing a covers album that won’t just waste space on your CD shelf. In fact, the album wants for, rather demands, repeated listening. First off, Nada Surf has good taste-the New York indie veterans take on songs by Depeche Mode, Dwight Twilley, Kate Bush, Arthur Russell, The Go-Betweens, and the vastly underrated and under-recognized Bill Fox, among others. Secondly, the band has the chops to back it up. The album leads with the ringing guitars of Fox’s “Electrocution,” before being followed by a version of Depeche Mode’s “Enjoy the Silence,” which, in its success, sets the tone for the rest of the album. Almost unrecognizable yet retaining the Mode’s haunting melodies, the song is centered by guitar, keyboard, and harmonious vocals that combine to dizzying effect, making the song soar into the ether instead of being weighed down by its pain. It may be as close to a perfect reinterpretation as one might hear and what all bands should shoot for when trying to put their own stamp on a classic.

The Go-Betweens’ “Love Goes On!” is power pop gold, Bush’s “Love and Anger” is as enchanting as the original, and Twilley’s “You Were So Warm” should encourage all who don’t have it to pick up a copy of Twilley’s 1976 debut, Sincerely. A couple lesser-known gems are also given exposure: the heavenly “Bye Bye Beauté” by French songstress Coralie Clement, and the orchestral pop of “Evolution” by Spain’s now-defunct Mercromina. The one misstep here might be with The Moody Blues’ “Question,” a terrific song that misses some of its mystical haze in Nada Surf’s driving power pop presentation. But it’s a minor complaint. While the vast majority of covers releases are terribleeither too experimental or overly staidNada Surf’s tribute is a rousing success, paying homage while making the songs they cover distinctly their own. It’s a feat that cannot be underestimated. (www.nadasurf.com)

Author rating: 7/10

Rate this album
Average reader rating: 7/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

Warren Lawyer
November 12th 2018
6:41am

I love a great cover album - I’m trying to add as many to my collection as possible.

Al
February 15th 2019
2:12pm

Throw back! Great cover album.

Columbus
April 22nd 2019
8:40pm

Nothing better than finding a cover that’s better than the original.

Jerry
May 2nd 2019
7:02pm

Loved Nada Surf for YEARS!

Vallejo Towing
May 2nd 2019
7:03pm

Dig the sound

Mountain View Tree Service
May 2nd 2019
7:03pm

Love a good cover

Tree Service San Diego
May 2nd 2019
7:05pm

Loving the sound, been a fan for a long time

Massage Mountain View
May 2nd 2019
7:05pm

These guys are still around??

Massage Fresno
May 2nd 2019
7:08pm

ROCK N ROLL!

Driving School Tampa
May 2nd 2019
7:08pm

seeing the old heads still around is wonderful

Massage Tampa
May 2nd 2019
7:08pm

How old are these guys now?

Windshield Repair Fresno
May 2nd 2019
7:09pm

NADA SURF! NADA SURF! NADA SURF!

Windshield Repair Fresno
May 2nd 2019
7:09pm

NADA SURF! Forever!

Dog Grooming
May 4th 2019
3:20pm

An absolute ripper of a cover would absolutely recommend!

Love this!

192.168.1.254
May 13th 2019
8:05am

I enjoyed over read your blog post. Your blog has nice information, I got good ideas from this amazing blog.

router login
May 17th 2019
5:10am

rock is alive

jiofi local html
May 17th 2019
5:13am

rock is alive!

192.168.1.254
May 17th 2019
5:14am

good job! hi-fi is power!

Vallejo Realtors
June 22nd 2019
2:38pm

Awesome post, thank you!

Jake Owens
June 24th 2019
4:03pm

I will give cover bands credit, much cheaper and they can be just as much as if not more fun than the real band.

Painting Company Philadelphia
July 12th 2019
8:49am

Awesome sound and I love the cover

d&d podcast
August 6th 2019
5:26pm

Awesome album, have loved these guys forever!

Piano Tuning
August 31st 2019
8:33am

Great cover album! Always good to see the good old ones back around again.

Perfect Interiors and Gifts
September 18th 2019
2:40am

I love the cover photo. I admire it!

Ryan
November 18th 2019
10:39pm

“Enjoy the silence” on this album just sets the stage for the albums greatness.

Concrete Contractor Midland
December 17th 2019
11:00pm

These types of cover albums never get boring.  Thanks for constantly providing value for us in your magazine style site!  Love it!

Concrete Patio
February 3rd 2020
10:04pm

I love these guys!

Steve
March 5th 2020
4:01pm

What a great cover album. Really love the sound.

Cory Smith
April 1st 2020
12:01am

This is very interesting! https://poolservicelancaster.org/

Cory Smith
April 2nd 2020
1:05am

This Blog is very interesting! I really love reading it because it is informative and it helps me a lot. I will tell this to other people. href=“https://poolservicelancaster.org/”>Pool Service Lancaster</a>

Roofing Toowoomba
July 28th 2020
10:30pm

There use to be the best!

Joe Ma
August 12th 2020
11:18pm

Awesome album! Def would listen to again over and over.

testosterone supplements
August 19th 2020
12:06am

Great music.  Love it.

angel number 1717
October 8th 2020
9:32am

Rock N’ Roll! It has really a great cover. Thanks for sharing!

Bathroom Makeovers Sydney
June 27th 2021
6:02am

Nada have always been a great indie band.

Natrahea
July 6th 2021
1:21am

Awesome post. Thank you!!!
Best Chiropractor in Singapore

Alegant Mall
July 21st 2021
12:19am

I enjoyed over read your blog post.
Enzyme Cleansing Gel

Gaia1956
July 26th 2021
6:56am

overlook hospital

Gaia1956
July 26th 2021
6:56am

natural

Gaia1956
July 26th 2021
6:58am

best suv 2020

Gaia1956
July 26th 2021
6:59am

sweet wine

Gaia1956
July 26th 2021
7:00am

food places that deliver

Gaia1956
July 26th 2021
7:01am

group

Gaia1956
July 26th 2021
7:02am

housing preservation and development

Gaia1956
July 26th 2021
7:03am

and institute

Gaia1956
July 26th 2021
7:04am

millennium

Gaia1956
July 26th 2021
7:05am

havwoods

Natrahea
August 13th 2021
5:03am

Great Album!!!!
Best TCM in Singapore

Natrahea
September 5th 2021
1:27am

Nice Cover Album.
Acupuncture in Singapore

Alegant Mall
September 8th 2021
7:54am

Great Album.
Vitamin C 1000 mg Tablets