Run the Jewels

Run the Jewels 2

Mass Appeal

Dec 03, 2014 Web Exclusive Bookmark and Share


"I'm gonna bang this bitch the fuck out," yells Killer Mike before the opening track of Run the Jewels 2. It serves as a mission statement for the entire albumwho knows what these guys are angry at, exactly (possible targets include the government, other rappers, "fuck boys," and anyone who has ever overlooked them), or if their lathered delivery is just two guys at the height of their abilities daring one another to go farther, but damn if Run the Jewels 2 isn't a monster of an album. Even the single time the album really flirts with tired misogyny ("Love Again") is spun on its head with a colossally raunchy verse from female rapper Gangsta Boo that offers some equality to the whole affair. Whether it's rage or just two guys trying to make each other laugh with dark humor, RTJ2 stands tall in a year of weak hip-hop. (www.runthejewels.net)

Author rating: 9/10

Rate this album
Average reader rating: 8/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

DIY
August 27th 2017
11:54pm

Good post !! I appreciate your article writing, here it’s my first visit and I found a great information here.

https://woodpeckerscrafts.com
August 28th 2017
3:40am

I haven’t heard the album so far, but it can be seen that the album do have some wonderful ratings online. That alone is enough for any music lover to go for this album. The theme of the album also sounds so good to me.

reset print spooler
May 2nd 2018
10:54pm

I did listen to the songs from this album and to be frank these songs are indeed a decent try in the rap genre. The theme of the album has been well kept through each of the songs and they have been able to create a groovy mood throughout.

David Gibbson
July 19th 2018
10:10pm

It’s important to note that Run the Jewels 2 is an album—it’s on a real label and you can pay money to own it. And the transition from mix tape-to-album explains every progression El-P and Killer Mike have made in the past year. This is the most viciously realized rap album of 2014. trinitykochireview.com

happy wheels
October 17th 2018
8:50pm

I want to say about this article, uummm this is amazing and nice post.

Krogerfeedback
October 28th 2018
12:33pm

I needed to write you a very small remark so as to give many thanks once again for your spectacular things you’ve contributed here.

happy wheels
March 3rd 2019
12:15am

This is one of the great story i have read. Thanks for uploading and updating this new run the jewels 2.

run 3
March 3rd 2019
12:29am

I like the way you have written in this blog. Such a interesting blog to read out. Worth reading and sharing.

I read the article you shared here regarding Run the Jewels. But I didn’t understand the concept you tried to share through this article. I think you could have written the article in a simple way so that everyone could understand it very well.