Dirty Projectors: Swing Lo Magellan (Domino) | Under The Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Tuesday, July 5th, 2022  

Dirty Projectors

Swing Lo Magellan

Domino

Jul 09, 2012 Web Exclusive Bookmark and Share


Whether one has been charmed or lost by Dirty Projectors’ free willingness to chase their muse anywhere the wind has blown it over the past 10 years, their latest album is a winner either way. Swing Lo Magellan packs as many different ideas as ever into a new set of songs while offering perhaps the clearest and most satisfying picture yet of what the band is about.

While Dirty Projectors have always been driven by core member David Longstreth’s vision, Magellan benefits from its feel as a band record. On “Offspring Are Blank,” soaring, silky harmonies fly and fall like paper airplanes around Longstreth’s vocals. The song’s core blasts apart as the group bashes away like garage players with glam aspirations before returning abruptly to the song’s initial wobbly serenity.

Shifting comfortably from one melodic corner of the room to the next, Longstreth and company play it straight with the winning, simply hewn folk rock of the title track before heading into the busy rhythms and warped tones of “See What She Seeing.” The real achievement here is the arresting “Gun Has No Trigger”: over a simple foundation of bass drums, Longstreth builds tension as he sings each verse, mounting to a sublime vocal release courtesy of Amber Coffman and Haley Dekle.

“Unto Caesar” finds the group in a festive mood, sounding like they’re genuinely enjoying each other’s company. As acoustic guitars sparkle and strings drag sweetly underneath, Longstreth leads the charge vocally as Coffman and Dekle harmonize and goof. For some it may seem a bit precious, but even those listeners might envy the kitchen-cozy-with-friends vibe.

After a few seconds of “Irresponsible Tune” it becomes clear that Longstreth is after a high-lonesome Elvis sound for the track, and he manages to pretty much nail it. With an acoustic guitar and subdued Jordanaires-style backing vocals, the record closes with, of all things, a subdued nod to the King. Stylistically, at least. Even if the RCA label never presented Elvis singing “In my mind is a song/But in my eyes a world crooked, fucked-up, and wrong,” somewhere he’s probably nodding agreement that he knows exactly what Dirty Projectors mean. (www.dirtyprojectors.net)

Author rating: 8/10

Rate this album
Average reader rating: 8/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

cool math games
March 27th 2018
1:48am

Nice post. I appreciate the tips. My training routine is remarkably similar to yours. I will share it with my creative writing class this morning.

godaddy hosting 1$
May 18th 2018
12:45am

Such a really informative post. Your are providing always very useful information. I appreciate your efforts. Thanks fir given all the information.

windows setting
May 18th 2018
5:36am

Such the amazing post here visit here getting the windows 10 sync settings greyed out on your computer forever that the process you available antivirus forever and set the easily according your computer.

all the in formations are updating easily

Johncena2018
August 8th 2018
1:45am

Thanks For this Wonderful post…
You are Doing a Great Job..Well Good Luck For Your Future…
https://gta5forandroid.mobi/

chaturbate
August 10th 2018
6:59am

Really awesome… Please visit here to get more tokens.. https://chaturbatetokengenerator.pw

free roblox
August 13th 2018
5:10am

nice sharing,I will share it with my creative writing class this morning.

jaisingh
August 21st 2018
1:09am

People really need to make sure they follow this advice. This is a great post you shared.
Group Benefits in Calgary

wescan
August 23rd 2018
12:21am

This is an ideal blog for any person who wants to know about this topic. The article is good and it is pleasant to read.
Group Benefits In Calgary

claraalbert
September 4th 2018
12:13am

Rather than spend another five years stewing over lost love, Longstreth has determined rather to burst returned onto the scene with every other grimy Projectors album. And it’s invigorating, the temper upbeat and uplifting, the trumpets loud and proud.

rajarani
September 5th 2018
2:55am

The app is very easy to how to make skype push to talk 2018

color switch
September 10th 2018
1:58am

I think if someone is really want to play games like fortnite, he must have to get

satta matka
September 13th 2018
11:07pm

It was a very good post indeed. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it in my lunch time. Will surely come and visit this blog more often. Thanks for sharing.

Marguerite Leonard
September 20th 2018
6:10am

I really enjoy this blog, through mobile legends tool to receive unlimited Diamonds and more. The Mobile Legends can be used for android and iOS devices https://mobilelegendsinfinity.com/

Baguio
November 9th 2018
2:09am

A timeline of my brief involvement with Dirty Projectors’ new album Swing Lo Magellan: The first time I listened to Swing Lo Magellan https://gta5apk.biz

Download GTA 5 apk
November 13th 2018
8:29am

There were a lot of rumblings out there in the video game industry that something major was coming to the Android world, but most people would never have assumed that it was a full Android version of what many consider to be one of the best video games in human history

gta 5 mobile
December 27th 2018
9:15am

Thank you for sharing your review about swing lo magellan. Keep sharing and stay happy.

Downloadapkgame
January 28th 2019
6:59am

This post is very useful. Thanks

SEO with Wordpress
February 6th 2019
11:17pm

People really need to make sure they follow this advice. This is a great post you shared.

On ap standa
March 16th 2019
8:14pm

Hello. I think that I saw you visited my blog so I got here to? go back the desire? I am attempting to in finding things to enhance my website! I assume its adequate to use some of your ideas !

PUBG Hack
March 21st 2019
11:45am

This is really a useful article. I would like to suggest everyone to read this article atleast onetime.  Thank You

chaturbate
March 30th 2019
2:05am

This is really a useful article. Thank You

admin
April 15th 2019
7:49am

Thanks For this Wonderful post…

rockybhai
April 25th 2019
5:50am

great post

router default IP

Percy
April 25th 2019
5:09pm

This blog was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found something which helped me.
Many thanks!

radioecology (Percy)
http://clashofclanstrichegemmesillimit.blogspot.com/2017/01/que-hay-que-hacer-para-lograr-prestamos.html

b612 apk download
May 12th 2019
8:27am

Thank you for sharing this post. It is really nice and helpful post for us. Keep sharing

Fortnite Vbucks
May 15th 2019
5:26am

get free fortnite vbucks here-
https://fortnitevbucksgenerator.online/

Musically Followers
May 15th 2019
8:21am

Are you a Tiktok & Musically Lover? then this is something special for you. Here you can get Free Musically Followers.
<a >Free Musically Followers Generator </a>
<a >Free Musically Followers Hacks</a>

It is a nice article and you explained in a nice way. Keep sharing the new things like this. The article is good and it is pleasant to read.

John cena
July 30th 2019
1:54am

Thank You For tHis Wonderful Post.
https://freevbucksgenerator.info/

Cliffparkinn
August 2nd 2019
12:41pm

En tant que Français, notre célèbre baguette est en effet au premier rang des aliments consommés au petit déjeuner. Et bien souvent, nous y ajoutons un peu de confiture, de miel ou de beurre, accompagné d’un verre de jus de fruits et d’un produit laitier. Le petit déjeuner idéal, me direz-vous ! Regardons ce qu’il en est de plus près d’un point de vue micronutritionne

brawls star gems
August 7th 2019
10:36pm

https://brawlstargems.top/ new cheats and hacks

word games
August 13th 2019
5:13am

The website you share is very good. I have found many useful and helpful information for me. Thank you very much.

Factocert
August 27th 2019
6:35am

Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative

gtaapk
September 8th 2019
9:51pm

If you’d love nothing more than to have the chance to play this groundbreaking game on your favorite Android devices (including smartphones and tablets), you’re going to need to get your hands on a proper GTA 5 APK.

George
September 11th 2019
5:43am

Vaping is the inhaling of a vapor created by an electronic cigarette https://vapeshop23.yolasite.com

neela23
September 13th 2019
3:19am

Hi I’m liked the theme of this website post .

jams23
September 14th 2019
2:14am

This website presents good featured,i liked this post
Website: https://www.techtrainersonline.com/courses/manual-testing/

jams23
September 14th 2019
2:16am

Hello, i liked this post! thanks for sharing

vikky corner
September 14th 2019
4:38am

I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog, I will keep visiting this blog very often Microsoft Gift Card

Pubg Mobile Club
September 15th 2019
1:08am

Here we are going to share with you World’s Best 99.9% Working Free Pubg Mobile Uc Hacks. This is really possible to increase RP, purchase anything and get unlimited UC Coins by using any online tools? Let’s Find out here.
<a >Free PUBG Mobile UC Generator</a>

Pubg Mobile Club
September 15th 2019
1:09am

Here we are going to share with you World’s Best 99.9% Working Free Pubg Mobile Uc Hacks. This is really possible to increase RP, purchase anything and get unlimited UC Coins by using any online tools? Let’s Find out here.
https://pubgmobileclub.com

Imitation jewelery manufacturers
September 16th 2019
7:53am

Great blog. This was really helpful stuff. I wish you luck as you continue to follow that passion.

smok g priv accessories
September 19th 2019
12:31am

Great post. I was checking continuously this blog

Tommie Lott
September 24th 2019
12:06pm

You can downlaod gta 5 apk free of cost its very easy. also check out clash of lights apk for free resources.

Mukesh
October 1st 2019
4:58am

Create millions of Gems for the game Rise of Kingdom at free of cost
Rise of Kingdom Online Generator

Claritus Consulting
October 1st 2019
6:21am

This is really a awesome article. Keep Sharing.
<a >Mobile Apps Development Services</a>

data sgp
October 2nd 2019
6:15am

its very nice information.

King Martha
October 13th 2019
9:03am

Setiap orang berbeda, jadi berapa lama tergantung pada waktu yang Anda habiskan untuk melakukan Jelqing dan fisiologi Anda sendiri. Ada orang yang melihat hasilnya dalam beberapa minggu, yang lain antara 1 hingga 3 bulan. Pokoknya itu layak untuk mulai melakukannya, Anda tidak akan menyesal!

Titan Gel Asli
October 13th 2019
9:04am

Ya, ini adalah salah satu hal terbaik untuk melakukan latihan ini. Pertumbuhannya permanen. Jaringan yang dihasilkan oleh latihan tetap secara permanen.

Mukesh Kumar
October 13th 2019
2:26pm

Use our Clash of Clans Gems Generator Free
Clash of Clans Gems Generator

GTA 4 Android
October 25th 2019
7:04am

Great info really like it.

detoxicasli
October 30th 2019
1:45am

hipereosinofilia. Sebuah coproculture dilakukan dan tidak ada perubahan yang diamati. Studi parasitologi tinja menunjukkan telur parasit Necator americanus dan Trichuris trichiura serta kista Endolimax nana.

prakash
October 30th 2019
4:04am

Thanks for the shared this informative and interesting post with us, I really enjoyed your post because it’s really very helpful and informative for me! I m going to share this post with my friends and family! keep inspiring us with your knowledge

Guru Ghasidas University Recruitment
November 12th 2019
1:47am

This is a really helpful post, very informative there is no doubt about it.

CMD Kerala Jobs
November 19th 2019
11:29pm

Useful post and information.

gmail sign up
November 28th 2019
5:24pm

Looking forward to reading more.. Great post. Really Cool
  gmail sign up

Latest Govt jobs
December 9th 2019
3:06am

Your blog is filled with unique good articles!

Matthias
January 6th 2020
7:15am

Thanks so much for sharing this post with us, I love this site.

YoWhatsApp
January 19th 2020
2:17am

Excellent Blog! I would like to thank for the efforts you have made in writing this post. I am hoping the same best work from you in the future as well.

FMWhatsApp
January 19th 2020
2:21am

Superb Article thanks for sharing.

Spring Equinox
February 20th 2020
12:53am

Nice and wonderful post….

WhatsApp Plus
April 5th 2020
4:52am

nowadays many people facing some problems in the official whatsapp. as we can’t stay from whatsapp because our work procedures with pics we sending to our groups or to any one in a simple and easy way. so official whatsapp has now some problems that’s why a new and latest one whatsapp is here named as Whatsapp Plus Apk 2020. you should to download this because it has no issue and have more features than official whatsapp.

hotstar
April 8th 2020
2:13am

Are you looking to download hotstar for pc or laptop then check out this tutorial to download and install hotstar and watch movies and tv shows for free

gta 5 cheats
August 26th 2020
2:17am

I appreciate your post. I’ll keep on visiting next posts

Xperria
September 2nd 2020
1:38am

Digital directory : You Have Nice Contents .Come to my website to view the contents of my website :
Trying to reach out to a customer care executive can sometimes leave you annoyed and disappointed as well. However, when you are left with no hope as you are tired of trying, we will come to your rescue. We will help you to connect to the customer care service of your choice. The task which looked like an uphill climb to you sometimes back will be done instantly.For more information visit us at https://xperria.com

gb whatsapp download apk
October 1st 2020
5:31pm

This is the best version of whatsapp that can be downloaded for free. Visit the website and get your best app here!

Hector
October 6th 2020
2:17pm

Anime Lovers pay attention

john coffee
November 2nd 2020
6:13am

Thanks mate this helped me out alot. looking forward to see more of these.

Tommie
May 18th 2021
11:26am

Thanks for sharing this useful information.

Click Here
May 18th 2021
11:29am

Keep sharing this useful information. Thanks Again!

Rohi Rehman
May 20th 2021
12:25am

The recently announced version for your WhatsApp YoWA version is free of such user complaints.

YoWhatsApp APK
May 20th 2021
12:27am

YOWhatsApp APK has prolonged its Kingdom, and a lot of people are using it with interest. Many of the features provided are lacking in the Original WhatsApp application.

thunderball results tonight
May 29th 2021
10:33am

Hello check this new uk thunderball lottery result.

apk
June 25th 2021
3:37am

Wonderful information! I found amazing information on the blogs i suggest everyone to follow the links below to get download files from this website.


https://apkfasak.com/fmwhatsapp-apk
https://apkfasak.com/gb-whatsapp-apk

rehabilitation center
June 25th 2021
4:07am

Islamabad Psychiatric Clinic and Rehabilitation Center offers treatments for drug addicts that help in rescue, detoxification, rehabilitation and prevention of relapses and most importantly in social reintegration.

FMWhatsapp
July 12th 2021
3:34am

Thanks for sharing useful post here FMWhatsapp

Good Night Images
July 15th 2021
10:02pm

Hello, I liked this post! thanks for sharing…

Kabir Ke Dohe
July 15th 2021
10:04pm

Thanks mate this helped me out a lot. Do You Like reading Hindi?

shivam
July 18th 2021
5:34am

Kaomoji represents Japanese words and the face of the Japanese people through a letter. It is not at all like the western kaomoji which you are seeing next to it :) which looks like this now you must have understood and Japanese Kaomoji is a very big category which is in a lot of categories and which Lenny The face is, it is definitely used to use the bracket to show the face of the person additionally. So now you have understood the difference between kaomoji vs Lenny’s facekaomoji

FmWhatsApp APK
July 22nd 2021
3:50am

Nice post. I appreciate the tips. My training routine is remarkably similar to yours. I will share it with my creative writing class this morning.

Sad DP
July 23rd 2021
12:08am

Hello ,

all the in formations are updating easily

fm whatsapp apk
August 4th 2021
8:14am

Your website is soo good and the information poster here is also fantastic keep it up ! keep writing good posts like this !

jiofi local html login
August 11th 2021
1:52am

Manage LTE, Network, LAN, Wi-Fi, Storage, User Management, Firmware Upgrade, Apps Management, WPS and advance settings. jiofi.local.html Login

https://www.jiofilocalhtmllogin.in/

at&t apn settings
August 11th 2021
1:53am

If your carrier allows it, you can view your APN settings in one of the following locations:

Settings > Cellular > Cellular Data Options > Cellular Network. Settings > Mobile Data >

Mobile Data Options > Mobile Data Network

https://www.apnsettingsandroid.com/2021/04/apn-settings-for-sprint-4g-lte-2021-usa.html

YOWhatsApp
September 12th 2021
7:55am

Download the latest version 2021 on your mobile phone and enjoy its features it.

raaj poonia
September 12th 2021
7:35pm

It absolutely outstanding and fantastic topic and facts right here.