Dirty Projectors: Swing Lo Magellan (Domino) | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Sunday, March 29th, 2020  

Dirty Projectors

Swing Lo Magellan

Domino

Jul 09, 2012 Web Exclusive Bookmark and Share


Whether one has been charmed or lost by Dirty Projectors' free willingness to chase their muse anywhere the wind has blown it over the past 10 years, their latest album is a winner either way. Swing Lo Magellan packs as many different ideas as ever into a new set of songs while offering perhaps the clearest and most satisfying picture yet of what the band is about.

While Dirty Projectors have always been driven by core member David Longstreth's vision, Magellan benefits from its feel as a band record. On "Offspring Are Blank," soaring, silky harmonies fly and fall like paper airplanes around Longstreth's vocals. The song's core blasts apart as the group bashes away like garage players with glam aspirations before returning abruptly to the song's initial wobbly serenity.

Shifting comfortably from one melodic corner of the room to the next, Longstreth and company play it straight with the winning, simply hewn folk rock of the title track before heading into the busy rhythms and warped tones of "See What She Seeing." The real achievement here is the arresting "Gun Has No Trigger": over a simple foundation of bass drums, Longstreth builds tension as he sings each verse, mounting to a sublime vocal release courtesy of Amber Coffman and Haley Dekle.

"Unto Caesar" finds the group in a festive mood, sounding like they're genuinely enjoying each other's company. As acoustic guitars sparkle and strings drag sweetly underneath, Longstreth leads the charge vocally as Coffman and Dekle harmonize and goof. For some it may seem a bit precious, but even those listeners might envy the kitchen-cozy-with-friends vibe.

After a few seconds of "Irresponsible Tune" it becomes clear that Longstreth is after a high-lonesome Elvis sound for the track, and he manages to pretty much nail it. With an acoustic guitar and subdued Jordanaires-style backing vocals, the record closes with, of all things, a subdued nod to the King. Stylistically, at least. Even if the RCA label never presented Elvis singing "In my mind is a song/But in my eyes a world crooked, fucked-up, and wrong," somewhere he's probably nodding agreement that he knows exactly what Dirty Projectors mean. (www.dirtyprojectors.net)

Author rating: 8/10

Rate this album
Average reader rating: 8/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

cool math games
March 26th 2018
11:48pm

Nice post. I appreciate the tips. My training routine is remarkably similar to yours. I will share it with my creative writing class this morning.

windows setting
May 18th 2018
3:36am

Such the amazing post here visit here getting the windows 10 sync settings greyed out on your computer forever that the process you available antivirus forever and set the easily according your computer.

all the in formations are updating easily

Johncena2018
August 7th 2018
11:45pm

Thanks For this Wonderful post…
You are Doing a Great Job..Well Good Luck For Your Future…
https://gta5forandroid.mobi/

chaturbate
August 10th 2018
4:59am

Really awesome… Please visit here to get more tokens.. https://chaturbatetokengenerator.pw

free roblox
August 13th 2018
3:10am

nice sharing,I will share it with my creative writing class this morning.

jaisingh
August 20th 2018
11:09pm

People really need to make sure they follow this advice. This is a great post you shared.
Group Benefits in Calgary

wescan
August 21st 2018
9:41pm

I would like to say that this blog has really convinced me, you give me the best information! Thanks, very good post
Corporate Insurance In Calgary

wescan
August 22nd 2018
12:20am

Thanks so much for posting this way I enjoyed more here. So please keep updated like this.
Insurance Broker In Calgary

wescan
August 22nd 2018
10:21pm

This is an ideal blog for any person who wants to know about this topic. The article is good and it is pleasant to read.
Group Benefits In Calgary

wescan
August 23rd 2018
12:12am

It’s a great and helpful blog that you wrote keep writing a lot like this blog.
Insurance Broker In Calgary

claraalbert
September 3rd 2018
10:13pm

Rather than spend another five years stewing over lost love, Longstreth has determined rather to burst returned onto the scene with every other grimy Projectors album. And it’s invigorating, the temper upbeat and uplifting, the trumpets loud and proud.

rajarani
September 5th 2018
12:55am

The app is very easy to how to make skype push to talk 2018

color switch
September 9th 2018
11:58pm

I think if someone is really want to play games like fortnite, he must have to get

satta matka
September 13th 2018
9:07pm

It was a very good post indeed. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it in my lunch time. Will surely come and visit this blog more often. Thanks for sharing.

Marguerite Leonard
September 20th 2018
4:10am

I really enjoy this blog, through mobile legends tool to receive unlimited Diamonds and more. The Mobile Legends can be used for android and iOS devices https://mobilelegendsinfinity.com/

Baguio
November 9th 2018
2:09am

A timeline of my brief involvement with Dirty Projectors’ new album Swing Lo Magellan: The first time I listened to Swing Lo Magellan https://gta5apk.biz

Download GTA 5 apk
November 13th 2018
8:29am

There were a lot of rumblings out there in the video game industry that something major was coming to the Android world, but most people would never have assumed that it was a full Android version of what many consider to be one of the best video games in human history

gta 5 mobile
December 27th 2018
9:15am

Thank you for sharing your review about swing lo magellan. Keep sharing and stay happy.

Downloadapkgame
January 28th 2019
6:59am

This post is very useful. Thanks

SEO with Wordpress
February 6th 2019
11:17pm

People really need to make sure they follow this advice. This is a great post you shared.

On ap standa
March 16th 2019
7:14pm

Hello. I think that I saw you visited my blog so I got here to? go back the desire? I am attempting to in finding things to enhance my website! I assume its adequate to use some of your ideas !

PUBG Hack
March 21st 2019
10:45am

This is really a useful article. I would like to suggest everyone to read this article atleast onetime.  Thank You

chaturbate
March 30th 2019
1:05am

This is really a useful article. Thank You

admin
April 15th 2019
5:49am

Thanks For this Wonderful post…

b612 apk download
May 12th 2019
6:27am

Thank you for sharing this post. It is really nice and helpful post for us. Keep sharing

Fortnite Vbucks
May 15th 2019
3:26am

get free fortnite vbucks here-
https://fortnitevbucksgenerator.online/

Musically Followers
May 15th 2019
6:21am

Are you a Tiktok & Musically Lover? then this is something special for you. Here you can get Free Musically Followers.
<a >Free Musically Followers Generator </a>
<a >Free Musically Followers Hacks</a>

Titan gel
June 9th 2019
6:55pm

Majoritatea bărbaților doresc astăzi un penis mai mare, pentru că este un semn al forței, fertilității și cuceririlor sexuale. Mulți bărbați au un penis mediu care este în intervalul de 5 până la 7 centimetri lungime atunci când este complet erect. Dar pentru aceia dintre noi care sunt sub medie, există trei sfaturi principale pe care le puteți folosi pentru a vă mări penisul. https://www.titan-gels.ro/