A. Savage (Parquet Courts’ Andrew Savage) Shares New Song “Phantom Limbo”

Thawing Dawn Due Out October 13 via Dull Tolls

Sep 26, 2017
Bookmark and Share


Parquet Courts' frontman Andrew Savage is releasing his debut solo album, Thawing Dawn, under the name A. Savage on October 13 via Dull Tolls. He previously shared the album's first single, "Winter in the South," which was followed by the crisp and sparse "Wild, Wild, Wild Horses." Now he has shared another song from the album, the cleverly titled "Phantom Limbo," which has a bit of a country vibe to it, with its pedal steel guitar. Check it out below, followed by the song's lyrics and Savage's upcoming tour dates.

Savage had this to say about the inspiration behind the song in a press release: "In life we attach ourselves to people that define periods of our life, and who we are in those eras. When suddenly those people are absent, our perception of reality shifts, maybe just minutely, but enough to startle us. My heart always tries to reconcile these absences in order to move on and gain a better understanding of who I am. That's the foundation of 'Phantom Limbo.'"

Thawing Dawn was recorded between December 2016 and June 2017 in Jarvis Taveniere's Thump Studios in Brooklyn. The album also features members of Woods, Ultimate Painting, PC Worship, EZTV, Sunwatchers, and Psychic TV. 

Parquet Courts released their excellent latest album, Human Performance, back last April via Rough Trade. Read our 2016 interview with Parquet Courts.

"Phantom Limbo" Lyrics:

There's a local tavern comfort you evoke
There's a point to life nestled in your eyes when you're laughing at all my jokes
Well I tried but I can't forget because the one thing that matters most
Is the shape you take in my dreams doesn't fit my waking world
 
As I fled my birthplace village looking back
There's a chessboard set in the distance that was mated in the recent past
Oh was it just a cemetery or a tombstones dealership
I could not tell from the road, we were going pretty fast
 
Did the clatter I sent you ever arrive?
Did you breath into your lungs and then blow a cloud as you said goodnight
When you've swept out the last of it, is it tidy in your room
Do you feel the phantom limbo as you bend beneath the broom
 
There's a thousand words I've framed behind my eyes
When I close my lids there's a child that grins as I leave the day behind
And at night when my bones surrender to the wind blown from the sea
Then I'm sure that you're the sweetest breeze that's ever blown thru me

A. Savage Tour Dates:

Wed. Nov. 1 - Pittsburgh, PA @ The Funhouse at Mr. Smalls w/ Jack Cooper
Thu. Nov. 2 - Chicago, IL @ The Empty Bottle w/ Jack Cooper
Fri. Nov. 3 - Detroit, MI @ Jumbo's w/ Jack Cooper
Sat. Nov. 4 - Columbus,OH @ Double Happiness w/ Jack Cooper
Sun. Nov. 5 - Louisville, KY @ Kaiju w/ Jack Cooper 
Mon. Nov. 6 - Nashville, TN @ The End w/ Jack Cooper
Wed. Nov. 8 - Atlanta, GA @ Drunken Unicorn w/ Jack Cooper 
Thu. Nov. 9 - Durham,NC @ The Pinhook w/ Jack Cooper
Fri. Nov. 10 - Washington, DC @ DC9 w/ Jack Cooper
Sat. Nov. 11- Brooklyn, NY @ Murmrr Ballroom w/ Jack Cooper
Thu. Nov. 30 - Philadelphia, PA @ PhilaMOCA
Fri. Dec. 1 -Jersey City, NJ @ Monty Hall
Sat. Dec. 2 - Portsmouth, NH @ 3S Artspace
Sun. Dec. 3 - Allston, MA @ The Great Scott
Mon. Dec. 4 - Montreal, QC @ l'Escogriffe Bar Spectacle
Tue. Dec. 5 - Toronto, ON @ The Garrison
 
Parquet Courts Tour Dates:

Wed. Nov. 15 - Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle (Red Bull 30 Days in Chicago) w/ Meat Wave
Thu. Nov. 16 - Detroit, MI @ El Club w/ Bonny Doon
Fri. Nov. 17 - Cleveland, OH @ Grog Shop w/ The Cowboy
Sun. Nov. 19 - Brooklyn, NY @ Elsewhere w/ B Boys
Fri. Dec. 15 - Sat. Dec. 16 - Buenos Aires, AR @ Festival BUE

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.