Far Arden | Under The Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Sunday, September 26th, 2021  

Far Arden

Top Shelf

Written and drawn by Kevin Cannon

Jul 07, 2009 Web Exclusive Bookmark and Share


Kevin Cannon’s Far Arden is an unassuming series of masterstrokes an adventurous yarn that came into fruition from a bet between friends. Steven Stwalley, founder of the International Cartoonist Conspiracy and fellow local cartoonist, challenged Cannon to create one 24-hour comic every month for an entire year. You heard right. That’s a 24-page comic, created during the span of 24 hours. (Check here for more on Far Arden‘s intriguing back-story.) The end result is a handsome 288-page graphic novel, created in twelve caffeine-fueled bursts over the course of a year. Cannon didn’t quite meet the terms of the original agreement: only the first four months’ pages were created in 24-hour chunks. Nevertheless, the comical narrative of a salty seadog and evergreen adventurer, Army Shanks, is relentlessly entertaining.

Throughout the tale, Shanks is searching for the mythical land of Far Arden (Shakespeare famously namedropped it in his pastoral comedy, As You Like It). The writer/artist got the original kernel of a narrative after reading arctic explorers’ journals from the nineteenth and early-twentieth centuries and folklore about tropical islands heated by the Earth’s core. It’s that sense of timeworn discovery that propels much of Far Arden. Like his creator, Shanks is on his quest to fulfill a promise to his mentor. Along the way, he encounters his ex-wife, vindictive orphans, a faux treasure map, a golden narwhal, several angry/displaced polar bears, a circus strongman with the Hollywood sign reflecting in his eyes, and lots of double-dealings. Cannon’s first solo novel sees him breaking away from his longtime collaborator at Big Time Attic, Zander Cannon (no relation). On his own, Cannon’s art springs to life with plenty of cartoonish emnatas (a total of 272) and witty dialog for male and female characters. His spindly post-clear-line characters may act like expressive marionettes but they are multi-faceted once you get past Cannon’s hyper-active narrative pace. Arden was originally posted on Cannon’s website, and the entire story can be found here, for free. But the print version is highly recommended for any comic fan. (www.kevincannon.org)

Author rating: 7/10

Rate this comic book
Average reader rating: 9/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

JUSTINEMurray
August 24th 2011
10:29am

Do not a lot of cash to buy a house? Don’t worry, because it’s available to get the credit loans to resolve such problems. Thus get a bank loan to buy everything you require.

SALINASLisa26
September 1st 2011
1:58pm

I think that to get the mortgage loans from banks you ought to have a firm motivation. However, one time I’ve got a sba loan, just because I wanted to buy a bike.

PowersLynnette34
September 5th 2011
12:51pm

Set your life time more simple take the loans and all you want.

EwingJane34
September 8th 2011
2:59pm

Some time before, I needed to buy a car for my corporation but I didn’t earn enough cash and could not buy anything. Thank heaven my fellow proposed to get the loans at reliable creditors. Hence, I acted that and used to be satisfied with my financial loan.

ROXANNE25Carter
September 23rd 2011
3:11pm

When you are in uncomfortable position and have no cash to move out from that point, you would require to receive the mortgage loans. Because that will aid you definitely. I take short term loan every time I need and feel fine because of that.

AngelitaBond
October 6th 2011
5:18am

It’s cool that people can get the loans and it opens completely new possibilities.

McfaddenSHANNA29
February 27th 2012
5:51pm

Specialists tell that loan help people to live their own way, just because they can feel free to buy needed goods. Moreover, various banks give auto loan for all people.

SYKESEricka21
February 28th 2012
11:56pm

I will recommend not to hold off until you get enough amount of money to buy different goods! You should get the credit loans or commercial loan and feel free

FRIEDACHAPMAN
April 12th 2012
6:02pm

The loans seem to be useful for people, which are willing to start their own organization. In fact, that’s not very hard to get a short term loan.

Liza25WHEELER
June 13th 2012
12:57pm

People deserve very good life and business loans or bank loan can make it much better. Because freedom depends on money state.

SaundersFanny31
June 24th 2012
2:58pm

I strictly recommend not to hold back until you get enough amount of cash to order goods! You can just take the credit loans or just small business loan and feel yourself comfortable

TANISHA24WALLS
February 5th 2013
8:00am

Proper essay custom writing service is guaranteed, in case you view this Web site and buy papers online from the expert company.

HESTERSonya23
February 11th 2013
6:16am

You may buy original custom research essays and skillful writerwill be happy to help you, visit their firm and take pleasure from writing process.

JanetteHEWITT30
March 18th 2013
8:10pm

Every man has difficult minutes. Nevertheless, it is important to survive. Furthermore, our custom writing service will aid you to do that!

WilliamJana29
May 11th 2013
12:16am

Are you fed up to the teeth with your writing assignments? If yes, accesssite and get research paper help uk just now!

Stanley33Theresa
May 11th 2013
3:43am

In students’ community can’t live without presentation and speech writing company. College students are not indolent they are just pressured by time.

JamiRosales
May 24th 2013
10:02pm

Our firm has been in the writing industry for a long time, so if you are hunting where to obtain excellent quality Book Review Essay, merely come to us.

TamikaFrancis24
May 24th 2013
10:19pm

Seeking for superb service? This trusty company has been in the writing industry for quite a long time, so it will offer you fine quality Psychology Essay.

BettyeRichard30
July 29th 2013
7:16am

I guess that to receive the loans from banks you must have a great motivation. However, one time I have received a secured loan, because I was willing to buy a building.

NoelMarianne31
September 3rd 2013
11:02am

Buy essay writing from professional writers. So if you lack of skills, simply click here and receive custom essay writing assistance.

Flora30Johnston
September 6th 2013
3:21am

Check out our ESSAYSSERVICE company as the data available will give you a helping hand when you agree to buy essays and to achieve the best results when it comes to best academic writing services.

Kim33Dunn
September 7th 2013
11:09am

Time of party can be a good thing but not any student can use that. Usually high school students stay at the libraries and research their term essays having no free time for fun. However, it can be over now because you are able to buy essay online and enjoy your life.

AlvarezDale18
September 15th 2013
3:30pm

Get in touch with this Web site when you are looking for reliable term paper writing services. Purchase cheap papers, don’t waste your time and go about your own business while highly skilled writers take care of your writing assignment.

NatashaMcleod25
September 17th 2013
11:56pm

Whenever you buy writing services from agencies that function on the Internet, ascertain that your personal info will be kept secret from the strangers.

MckayMARGARET24
September 22nd 2013
9:33pm

Your degree isn’t a tournament and you should not loose. Thus, the essay example service can aid you to be on the top.